Nikon – Photokina

Our media staging of the pixel waterfall, a spatial touch conceived by Gestalt Communications, was a major talking point at Photokina. We were also in charge of conceptualising, designing and producing various interactive exhibits.

Pixel-Waterfall

Analogue meets digital

The ‘pixel waterfall’ of oversized cubes, lit from inside and flowing into a large LED wall, was the unmissable hallmark of the Nikon booth and produced in Nikon’s distinctly emotional ambience. The combination of programmed light animations and traditional motion design elements, paired with multichannel sound design, made visitors forget they were face to face with advanced technology. Instead, the scene provided an atmospheric framework for the numerous presentations and promotional videos that took place in the booth, which were well-received by the public. The Nikon booth at Photokina attracted more visitors than ever before.

I AM NIKON

At the central ‘brand cube’, numerous interactive exhibits enticed visitors to experience special product features, follow the evolution of various camera models and even become part of Nikon’s ‘I AM’ campaign. A touchscreen allowed visitors to take a selfie, add a personalised ‘I AM ...’ slogan, send it to the central wall through the pixel waterfall and have it also emailed to them.
Over 1,300 visitors participated.

160331 IAM GIF reduziert

The visitors themselves became part of the campaign and were happy to join in!

Christian Schmachtenberg,
Creative Director
Gestalt Communications

Making-Of

Behind the cubes

In this project, we coordinated a wide range of teams so that all media installations were up and running after just two days of work.

Awards

iF Communication Design Award

Nikon Photokina

Unsere mediale Inszenierung des „Pixel-Wasserfalls“, einer von Gestalt Communications erdachten räumlichen Geste, sorgte auf der Photokina für viel Aufmerksamkeit. Daneben waren wir auch für Konzeption, Design und Produktion verschiedener interaktiver Exponate zuständig.

Pixel-Wasserfall

Analog meets Digital

Der „Pixel-Wasserfall“ aus überdimensionalen, von innen leuchtenden Kuben, der in eine großen LED-Medienfläche mündet, war das weithin sichtbare Erkennungszeichen des Nikon-Stands und wurde in seiner ausgesprochen emotionalen Raumwirkung wahrgenommen. Eine Kombination aus programmierten Licht-Animationen und klassischen Motion-Design Elementen gepaart mit einem Mehrkanal-Sound-Design ließen Besucher vergessen, es hier mit Hightech zu tun zu haben. Vielmehr bildete die Inszenierung den atmosphärischen Rahmen für zahlreiche Vorträge und Imagefilme, die am Stand gezeigt und vom Publikum dankbar angenommen wurden. Der Nikon Stand auf der Photokina war so gut besucht wie nie zuvor.

I AM NIKON

Am zentralen „Marken-Kubus“ luden mehrere interaktive Exponate die Besucher ein, besondere Produkt-Features unterhaltsam zu erleben, die Evolution verschiedener Kameramodelle zu verfolgen oder selbst Teil der Nikon „I AM“-Kampagne zu werden. So konnte man an einem Touchscreen ein „Selfie“ schießen, es mit einem persönlichen „I AM …“ Spruch versehen, über den Pixel-Wasserfall an die zentrale Medienfläche schicken und es sich zusätzlich per Mail schicken lassen.
Über 1.300 BesucherInnen beteiligten sich an der Aktion.

160331 IAM GIF reduziert

Die Besucher wurden selbst Teil der Kampagne und machten begeistert mit!

Christian Schmachtenberg,
Creative Director
Gestalt Communications

Making-Of

Behind the Cubes

Bei diesem Projekt wurden unterschiedlichste Gewerke von uns auf den Punkt koordiniert, damit alle Medieninstallationen nach nur zwei Tagen Aufbau ans Laufen gebracht werden konnten.

Awards

iF Communication Design Award